Working ON Your Business vs Working IN Your Business

Right now I’m sitting outside of Starbucks contemplating the meaning of life. Well, that might be slightly melodramatic. I’m actually just reflecting on how I spend my time each day and what portion of my workday is spent working on developing my business, what portion is spent working on client work and what portion is wasted. Honestly, I’d rather try to figure out the meaning of life (which, I’m pretty sure has something to do with the birth of Snooki’s baby, but we’ll get into that another time).

Here’s one thing I know for sure: my mornings are getting away from me! So, I’ve set the goal to take back my mornings from the grasps of my iPhone and turn them into productive, business development time.

  1. First step in this process – I need to wake up earlier. Not that intriguing to my over-indulgent sleep routine, but necessary for productivity.
  2. Next step – I need to have a morning routine that doesn’t involve checking my iPhone in bed. This is a rabbit hole of bad that finds me wasting some of the most potentially productive minutes of my day.
  3. Step three – Get back in the habit of a morning routine. Breakfast away from the desk. And treating my office like a place of business and not just another room in the house. No more tempting PJ email sessions.
  4. Last step – Take an hour before I open up shop to focus on my own business and marketing goals. The first hour I’m at my desk (before my clients start emailing me) should be dedicated to working on my own business. This is the perfect time to update my blog, connect with potential partners and work on my own marketing.

Every business is different. Some of us have clients to service, which cuts into the time we can spend focusing on our own business needs (while still maintaining work/life balance). Some of you are your brands. Marketing the brand is your business, so your routine will be different. But, now matter the structure of your company, it’s important to have some sort of routine.

What are your most productive times? When do you find time to work on your own business? I’d love to get some new ideas!

Tags: ,

About Donna Queza

I'm an optimist grounded in realism. That's what I love about working on the web -- the possibilities to be creative and distinctive are endless, but there's always a need for those reality-driven, data-fueld folks who make our dreams into realities. I like to think I hover somewhere in the middle - creative, quantifiable internet marketing solutions.

5 responses to “Working ON Your Business vs Working IN Your Business”

  1. Christy LeMire says :

    I love that you are taking your mornings back! I too find that I am most productive first thing in the morning. I find it’s the best time to set your intentions for the day and prioritize. Then tackle the most important things first. That way when you start to slack in the afternoon, you will still have had a productive day.

  2. Erin Haslag (@WELLinLA) says :

    Do it! Making more time for you makes you better for your clients in every single way. Working on the difficult parts of entrepreneurship and freelancing, like setting a schedule and boundaries, is incredibly important and a challenge for most of us. Taking at least one weekday a month to “play hooky” (no phones, no email, no i-anything) is important for my sanity.

    GOOD LUCK!!

  3. Christina Dely says :

    I definitely conquered Step 1 today! …unintentionally. I may have woken up at 5am & started editing. Good lord! Today is going to be a loooong day. Love this post.

  4. morgan says :

    I was just having this conversation with one of my clients the other day who is struggling with this very thing! She runs a salon and was looking to hire a shop assistant. I suggested instead that she get an intern as the assistant and hire an admin instead to help with some of the things she was struggling to find time to do, like blog and social media.

Give me your 2 cents!

