Freshbooks – Cool Tool Thursday

As my clients can tell you, I do most of my billing on the first of the month. So, it’s fitting that today – the day after I sent out my invoices – I take a second to talk about the tool that helps me get it done.

Using Freshbooks for small business

When I started my business, I used a system of Word documents and Excel spreadsheets to create and track client proposals, project invoices and payments. This system worked for a while, but it was tedious, redundant and sometimes resulted in errors (like forgetting to change an invoice number or date). That’s when I reached out to my people on Facebook and Twitter and heard about Freshbooks.

I tried out a couple of different tools (most will let you use them for a month for free) and decided that Freshbooks was the one for me. Here’s why I like it:

  • I can track all of my time for each client and easily plug it into my invoices with a click of a button
  • Branded templates (granted, they’re not the most beautiful or creative, but they get the job done)
  • I can convert an estimate into an invoice for those one-off projects
  • Clients can log into their accounts, see their statements, past invoices and estimates
  • It sends little reminders to clients if an invoice is overdue
  • The dashboard helps me get a quick snapshot of my accounts receivable
  • It works with lots of other online business management tools
  • It’s online, so I can access my information anywhere (which I’ve had to do on occasion)

So, if you’re looking to streamline your operations and get more efficient, check out Freshbooks (who, sadly, is not paying me for this glowing review!)

Tags: , , , ,

About Donna Queza

I'm an optimist grounded in realism. That's what I love about working on the web -- the possibilities to be creative and distinctive are endless, but there's always a need for those reality-driven, data-fueld folks who make our dreams into realities. I like to think I hover somewhere in the middle - creative, quantifiable internet marketing solutions.

Give me your 2 cents!

