Making Lemonade Out of Lemons and Mugshots

This is based on a true story. The names in this article have been changed to protect the innocent (or, in this case, the guilty).

Walter White is a coach. He helps people make important choices in their personal and professional lives. He’s trusted by his clients and he’s had a number of interesting stories that impact his knowledge.

http://www.worth1000.com/entries/602920/bryan-cranston-breaking-bad If you Google Walter White, the third thing you’ll see in the search results is a mugshot.

When this very thing happened to me after Googling a colleague, my reaction was negative and I doubted his effectiveness to lead others to the best, most ethical choices.

What’s your reaction to this?
What about If you then went to Walter’s website and he didn’t make any mention of the incident? Would you still want to work with him, would you trust him with your decisions?

What if you went to Walt’s website and he had the mugshot on the homepage with a little copy…
Have you seen this? Not my finest moment. But I’m going to tell you how my 24 hours in jail reshaped my perspective and got my life back on track following one of my darkest hours. We all make mistakes, I’m here to get you through yours and into the most productive, fruitful season of your life!

Are you feeling a little better?

When it comes to online crises, honesty is always the best policy. We are going to Google you and all of this juicy stuff is there for us to find. You might not have a mugshot, but maybe a former client is saying some not-so-nice things about you. Addressing these issues strategically, honestly and upfront will help future embarrassment and back-tracking.

Image snagged from: www.worth1000.com

Tags: ,

About Donna Queza

I'm an optimist grounded in realism. That's what I love about working on the web -- the possibilities to be creative and distinctive are endless, but there's always a need for those reality-driven, data-fueld folks who make our dreams into realities. I like to think I hover somewhere in the middle - creative, quantifiable internet marketing solutions.

One response to “Making Lemonade Out of Lemons and Mugshots”

  1. Erin Haslag (@WELLinLA) says :

    … this post … and that W.W. was the subject! Genius.

Give me your 2 cents!

