Marketing Roundup – March 12 -16, 2012

Happy Friday! Hopefully you had a fantastic and productive week. It’s been a while since I’ve down a roundup, so I’m excited to bring you some of my favorite recent marketing articles. If there is any specific topic you’d like to discuss, let me know and I’d be happy to add it to the blog!

This was an exciting week for me because I was featured on Yahoo! Education. A while back I was interviewed about a day in my life as a small business owner and online college student – and this week the article was finally published. Check it out to get an idea of how I (try to) balance my life!

As tremendously interesting as my day-to-day life is, you probably came here for some marketing tips, so I’ll give you a few of those, too.

21 Tactics to Increase Blog Traffic (Updated 2012)
This is an extremely comprehensive list of tips and tricks to getting your blog ranked well in the search engines. Some of it is time-consuming and might not be the perfect fit for you, but, as the article points out, “20% of the effort and tactics to make your content optimized for search engines will yield 80% of the value possible!”

Optimize Your Social Media Schedule: 4 Tips for Avoiding the Social Media Time Suck
This is something I get asked about a lot. And, frankly, there’s no simple solution to managing your time – especially online. But, If you’re cognizant of the fact that you’re not maximizing your time, there are steps you can take to be more effective. This article has some great tips and stats to help you know the best times of the day and days of the week to get the biggest impact out of your social media efforts.

How Patch Helps Small Businesses Reach Local Consumers
If you’re running a localized small business, you should know about Patch. It’s a great site for getting in touch with your community and it provides small business owners a number of ways to promote their businesses. Have a local event coming up? You can promote it on your local Patch calendar to attract interested parties in your city.

Donna Queza - Marketing Optimist Facebook Timeline Design

Customize Facebook’s Cover Picture – Dimensions and Template
I haven’t talked too much about timeline because there are so many resources all over the internet – including this one. But, if you’d like some information about how to use the timeline for your business, just let me know, I’d be happy to help. In the meantime, if you haven’t switched already you’ll need to get on that before the end of the month. This resource provides a nice template for laying out your page so you can get the most out of the space provided. To see a timeline in action, click on the image above to visit my page!

About Donna Queza

I'm an optimist grounded in realism. That's what I love about working on the web -- the possibilities to be creative and distinctive are endless, but there's always a need for those reality-driven, data-fueld folks who make our dreams into realities. I like to think I hover somewhere in the middle - creative, quantifiable internet marketing solutions.

Give me your 2 cents!

