Three Customer Service Tips I Learned on Vacation

I just got back from seven days of fun in the Puerto Rican sun. While I was there, I was pretty disconnected from the world and the computer (which, by the way, was kind of amazing). I’m back now and feeling more energized than ever!

Puerto Rico Vacation1

John and I at the waterfalls

Even though I was not trying to think of work, a little bit of my crazy did seep in and I managed to pick up some tips about how to do a great job and keep your customers coming back for more. Plus, I get to add a few shots from my trip!!

So, here are my Three Customer Service Tips I picked up on vacation:

  1. Stop nickel and diming me! I hate, hate, hate extra little fees. The worst one – the $25 fee to check a bag at the airport. I’ve already paid a chunk of change for flying with you, you won’t let me bring my conditioner on the plane (too much sun and salt water makes my hair a hot mess, I need my conditioners, people!) and now you want me to pay $25 more to check a bag. Know what your customers reasonably expect from you and include it in your price.
  2. The best way to hear someone is to listen. Some customers are going to be a little difficult to deal with, especially when they feel they’ve paid a lot of money for your services. I spoke to a woman on my trip who wasn’t happy with her room. The hotel was very gracious and offered to show her another room or, if she preferred, they would help her find accommodations at another property. Most customers just want to feel heard. She ended up moving to a new room that she liked very much and had a great time!
  3. Use mistakes as an opportunity to shine. We were eating at a local restaurant, which had excellent reviews on Yelp. The service was great and the food was delicious, until John bit down on a piece of undercooked fish. We politely told the server who was very sympathetic and apologetic. We were happy with that and didn’t think much of it. He came out of the kitchen a few moments later to let us know they’d like to offer us our entire meal for free. Undercooked food was not acceptable to them and they wanted to ensure our experience was great. The restaurant saw the big picture – we were only two people of thousands they see each year, but with sites like Yelp and TripAdvisor, two little voices can become pretty loud. Their generous customer service more than made up for the mistake in the kitchen and our review reflected it.

So, there you have it. I think I’ll take 10 more vacations this year so that I can bring you even more nuggets of wisdom!

Tags:

About Donna Queza

I'm an optimist grounded in realism. That's what I love about working on the web -- the possibilities to be creative and distinctive are endless, but there's always a need for those reality-driven, data-fueld folks who make our dreams into realities. I like to think I hover somewhere in the middle - creative, quantifiable internet marketing solutions.

5 responses to “Three Customer Service Tips I Learned on Vacation”

  1. Vicky Lyashenko says :

    Awe! You are sooo gorgeous! Looks like you had a great time! Thanks so much for your tips! ❤ Happy Valentines Day!!! xoxo

  2. erin @WELL in L.A. says :

    Great tips and even more fun to see a smiling Donna on vacation! Welcome back!

  3. Grace Tran says :

    I love this post! Thanks for the great tips and advise. I love how you took what you learned and passed it on to help others instead of just blogging about your trip. Glad you had fun (minus the part about the fish).

  4. Donna Queza says :

    Thank you all so much for your kind comments. We had such a great time!! But, it goes to show that you can be inspired in your business anywhere, you just have to be open to learning! 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Airline Artwork | Airplane Prints - February 16, 2012

Give me your 2 cents!

