Crafting a Great Twitter Bio for Your Brand

The Twitter bio is an often-overlooked part of your brand’s marketing mix. With so few characters (160) it can be surprisingly difficult to say anything meaningful. I often see bios that are cutesy, snarky or just plain mind-boggling. While cute and cutting might have their places in your brand’s voice, it’s important to let people know what you do (or at least what they can expect if they follow you) in your bio.

Here are a few tips to help your bio get noticed:

  • Make sure to include keywords that are relevant to the people who would follow you. If you’re a photographer who shoots high-end Los Angeles weddings, you should say that so that Twitter searchers can find you.
  • Don’t be vague about what you do. “Artsy, crafty, putter-together of amazing things” is cute, but it doesn’t tell me that you’re a graphic designer. Make sure the commonly used name for what you do is at least somewhere in the bio.
  • The tone of your bio should reflect the tone of your tweets. If your Tweets are humorous, inspirational, religious… make sure a potential follower understands that.
  • Always include a link. Even if you don’t have a website, include a link to your blog, Tumblr, Facebook Page or create a profile on a site like Flavors.me where people can learn more about you.
  • Include your location. Speaking personally, I like to follow people who are local. They understand my market and they comment about things that are relevant to me. Plus, there’s always the chance that I’ll get to meet them in person.
  • Don’t leave it blank. Even if you hate all of my tips, don’t leave it blank. Anything is better than nothing!
Donna Queza Twitter Bio October2011

You can find me on Twitter and check out my bio. It’s always a work in progress, so keep tweaking to find out what combination of characters works best for you.

Tags: , , ,

About Donna Queza

I'm an optimist grounded in realism. That's what I love about working on the web -- the possibilities to be creative and distinctive are endless, but there's always a need for those reality-driven, data-fueld folks who make our dreams into realities. I like to think I hover somewhere in the middle - creative, quantifiable internet marketing solutions.

Give me your 2 cents!

