A Marketing Optimist at Creative Connection USA

On Sunday, September 25, I had the honor of speaking to a great group of creative professional women for the September Creative Connection USA (CCUSA) Los Angeles meet up. I was especially excited because this CCUSA mixer was the first to feature an educational guest speaker (me!). I got to spend about an hour chatting with the ladies, brainstorming social media ideas and providing tidbits of marketing knowledge. It was fun answering questions and hearing others chiming in with their own suggestions.

Creative Connection USA collage

Since the meeting, I’ve had the opportunity to chat with a few of the ladies (both online and off) and I’d like to share with you the three tips that they’ve found most useful for their small businesses:

  1. Change your Facebook URL to a “vanity” URL (ex: www.facebook.com/MarketingOptimist) that your clients can easily type in to find you.
  2. Make sure your Twitter bio is clear, concise and tells what your brand is all about. Cute is cute, but it’s not helpful when people are looking for products and services.
  3. People like talking to people. Use an approachable photo of yourself for your Twitter avatar to encourage communication.

Aside from being a featured speaker, Creative Connection USA has provided me an opportunity to connect with like-minded small business owners in my community. There’s a great balance of business and friendship amongst the ladies involved, and I encourage you to get involved if you’re a woman in a creative field (or if you’re just looking to get inspired). The group is growing and there are chapters popping up all over Southern California, Texas and Oregon. Check out the Creative Connection USA Facebook page for more information about how you can get involved.

If you were at the most recent CCLA meeting, please leave a comment below. I’d love to stay in touch and contribute to the community however I can.

Special thanks to Simply V Photography for snapping all of these great shots at the event and to Emilee Hegg of Tasteful Tatters for being a great hostess.

Tags: , , ,

About Donna Queza

I'm an optimist grounded in realism. That's what I love about working on the web -- the possibilities to be creative and distinctive are endless, but there's always a need for those reality-driven, data-fueld folks who make our dreams into realities. I like to think I hover somewhere in the middle - creative, quantifiable internet marketing solutions.

6 responses to “A Marketing Optimist at Creative Connection USA”

  1. Christina Dely says :

    Wish I could have been there! Hope to see you at the next meeting!

  2. Verenice says :

    Loved all of your tips at the CCUSA event! Can’t wait to pick your brain more about all things marketing and social media! 🙂

  3. Donna Queza says :

    Thanks so much for your support, ladies. It’s been so great to connect with everyone from CCUSA and I’m already looking forward to the next meeting. In the meantime, you can always post your questions to my Facebook page! 🙂

  4. Desiree says :

    Donna thank you so much, love having a personal social media expert to help me with my business

  5. Meghan Christine Photography says :

    You did a GREAT job! Thanks so much for all the tips, and being so approachable “on and off-set” 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Meet Nailah Blades – A 20-something Business Owner « - November 16, 2011

Give me your 2 cents!

